IORA Leaders Sign Jakarta Concord

Jakarta, IORA - The leaders of the 21 member countries of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) signed the Jakarta Concord on Tuesday (Mach 7), 2017, on the occasion of the Leaders’ Summit held in commemoration of 20th anniversary of the IORA in Jakarta, Indonesia.

The IORA leaders have committed themselves to promoting maritime safety and security, enhancing trade and investment cooperation, promoting sustainable and responsible fisheries management and development, enhancing disaster risk management, strengthening academic, science and technology cooperation, fostering tourism and cultural exchanges, harnessing and developing cross cutting issues and priority objectives, broadening IORA’s external engagement and strengthening IORA’s institutions.

They also acknowledge the contribution of the Secretariat to managing, coordinating and implementing the policy decisions and work program of IORA, the IORA Action Plan that was welcomed by the Council of Ministers Meeting in Jakarta, Indonesia.

The IORA leaders also acknowledge the Government of the Republic of Indonesia, as the current Chair of IORA, for the leadership and initiative to hold the First IORA Leaders’ Summit and excellent hospitality and arrangements for the 20th Anniversary Celebrations

The IORA member countries consist of the Commonwealth of Australia, People’s Republic of Bangladesh, Union of Comoros, Republic of India, Republic of Indonesia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Madagascar, Malaysia, Republic of Mauritius,the Republic Mozambique, Sultanate of Oman, Republic of Seychelles, Republic of Singapore, Federal Republic of Somalia, Republic of South Africa, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, United Republic of Tanzania, Kingdom of Thailand, United Arab Emirates and Republic Yemen.